Click Here for a description of our awards and associated policies

Honorary Life Memberships

PATC has established a tradition, to recognize volunteer members whose contribution to the club has been consistently outstanding over a period of several years, by awarding them Honorary Life Membership in PATC.

Those so honored include:
  • 1950: Jean Stephenson
  • 1954: William O. Douglas 
  • 1960: Alvin Peterson, Roy Sexton
  • 1961: Ruth Mersch
  • 1970: Ruth Blackburn, Fred Blackburn, Egbert Walker, Dorothy Walker, Wallace Walker, Joe Winn, Clarence Mersch
  • 1972: Alice Matthews, Charles Pryor
  • 1973: Dorothy Mason
  • 1975: Philip Stone, John Oliphant, Grant Conway, Paul Bradt, Purnie Bishop
  • 1977: Paula Strain
  • 1978: Raymond Fadner
  • 1979: Ethel Hoover
  • 1980: Bert Vos, Elizabeth Vos
  • 1982: Robert Humphrey
  • 1984: Jim Denton, Molly Denton
  • 1986: Edward Garvey, Thomas Floyd
  • 1989: Samuel Moore, Warren Sharp
  • 1991: Lyman Stucker, David Bates, Dorothy Bates
  • 1992: Harry Thompson
  • 1993: Jack Reeder
  • 1995: Charles Graf, Charles Irvin
  • 1998: Marjorie Dexter, Jean Golightly, Sandra Marra, Randall Minchew
  • 1999: Marguerite Schneeberger, George Walters, James Hiltz
  • 2000: Walter Wells, Phillip Barringer, William Ladd
  • 2001: James Stauch, Charles Gieseking, Lillian Gieseking, Lois Mansfield
  • 2002: Peter Gatje, John McCrea, Jon Rindt, Walter Smith
  • 2003: Alden Rogers, David Pierce, Philip Paschall, Christopher Brunton
  • 2004: Gerhard Salinger, Bernie Stalmann
  • 2005: Park Anderson, Kerry Snow, Carol Niedzialek
  • 2006: Karen Brown, Tom Johnson, Dave Appel
  • 2007: George Schubert
  • 2008: Fred "Hop" Long, Jane Thompson, Cliff Wiley
  • 2009: Charles Hillon, Mel Merritt, Don White
  • 2010: Steve Bair, Mary Jorgensen, Thomas Jorgensen
  • 2011: Richard Dugan, Peter Brown
  • 2012: Alvin Black, Jr., Alvin Dove, Mark Gatewood, Mark Nelson
  • 2013: Lynn Cameron, Malcolm Cameron, Dan Dueweke
  • 2014: Henry Horn, John Shannon
  • 2015: Joseph E. "Radar" Raynor 


Myron Avery Award

Named in honor of the founder of the PATC, the Myron Avery Award recognizes a substantial achievement by a PATC member who most exemplifies the spirit of volunteerism through his or her contribution to PATC during the past year. This is the highest honor bestowed upon members of the club and is awarded to the PATC volunteer who most exemplifies Mr. Avery's dedication and devotion to PATC's mission. The contribution can be to any type or combination of club service activities, e.g., devoting many hours above and beyond the norm to service activities, including travel time, or making an exceptional contribution to a particular project. (Members of the Executive Committee are not eligible for the award.)

1999    Charles Graf
2000    Bruce Clendaniel
2001    Frank Turk
2002    Michael Sutherland
2003    Robert W. Pickett
2004    Katherine and Jon Rindt
2005    Walter M. Smith
2006    William Steinhour
2007    Alvin S. Black, jr. and Kerry Snow
2008    Patrick A. Wilson
2009    James F. Tomlin
2010    Chris Brunton
2011    Rush Williamson
2012    Richard Rooney
2013    Brian Goudreau
2014    Pete Brown
2015    Georgia Harris, Jayne Mayne, Randy Motz and Lee Sheaffer

Hawksbill Award


PATC started a new award starting in 2011… the Hawksbill Award.
Every Chapter, Crew, Section, Committee, District, and formally recognized PATC group such as Trail Patrol can designate one individual for this prestigious award each year.
At the PATC Annual Meeting in November, recipients will receive a special custom PATC award patch and a certificate.

The award, named for the highest vertical elevation (4,050 ft.) in PATC’s territory, was developed to fill the niche between the PATC Service Award (which many of our worthy volunteers receive on a regular basis) and the Myron Avery Award, our highest honor, presented to one volunteer annually.
PATC leadership recognized that many individuals go above and beyond to help their PATC group. We have given each PATC group the ability to acknowledge this high level of service by one special individual for the year.
PATC group leaders cannot name an elected PATC officer or themselves.

 2015 Hawksbill Award Winners

 Awarded by:    Winner      Awarded By:    Winner
 Yankee Clippers   -  Jackie and Tom Wolf                  SNP North BB District   -  David Sylvester
 Tuscarora South District   -  James Rice       Trail Patrol   -  Jeanne McSorley
 Prince William Forest Park District   -  Frank Haas      SNP South District   -  Rich Powley
 SNP North District   -  Casey Buboltz      SNP Central District   -  Matthew Murray
 Lands Management Committee   -  Phil Paschall      North Chapter   -  Mary Clark
 Mutton Hollow District   -  Mark Walkup      Mosby District    -  Robert Fina
 Maryland Metro District   -  Zoe Sollenberger       Maryland AT District   -  Mike Allen
 Massanutten North District   -   Charlie Miracle      GPS Rangers   -  Richard Leslie
 Pennsylvania AT District   -  Jim Tabor      Charlottesville Chapter   -  Michael Seth
 DC Metro District   -  Fritz Gottschalk      ATC 2015 Biennial   -  Mike Cohn
 Lincoln Loggers   -  Ian Mackay      Cadillac Crew  -  Kirsten Elowsky

Click here to see Hawksbill Award winners from prior years

Volunteers of the Month

Nominations for this recognition are made directly to the PATC Vice President of Volunteerism, and each month, a volunteer is chosen to be recognized for his or her outstanding contribution to the mission of PATC.  Here you will find a brief list of some of our volunteers so honored.